Skip to main content

The Team

Meet our Staff, Board Members, and Patron.

Chief Executive and Artistic Director

Cameron Menzies

Australian born Stage Director, Cameron Menzies works consistently across Opera, Music Theatre, Theatre, Cabaret and with many International Festivals.  His work has been seen throughout Australia, United Kingdom, Europe, USA, South Africa, Japan and China.  He has worked for Shakespeare’s Globe, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Opera Australia, Victorian Opera, Malthouse Theatre, Sydney Theatre Company, Short Black Opera Company,  Melbourne Symphony Orchestra & Sydney Symphony Orchestra.  He is also the Associate Artist (Direction) for Diva Opera UK.

General Manager

Laura Salt

Laura studied Music at the University of Ulster and later completed her PGCE in Music back at UU. She has previously worked with Camerata Ireland, the Ulster Youth Orchestra and New Irish Arts. Laura has a passion for young people in the arts and this is evident in her long association with the Education Authority Music Service and the Northern Ireland Concert Band. As a freelance horn player, Laura has supported many ensembles in Northern Ireland and is a founding member of all female horn quartet ‘CODA Horns’.

Head of Marketing and Development

Julia O’Hara

Julia read English at Cambridge University and spent more than a decade working in book publishing in London specializing in marketing and international rights at Macmillan, Virgin Books and Phaidon. Since moving to Belfast, Julia worked in the property industry before joining NI Opera in 2018

Assistant Producer

Caolan Keaveney

Caolan studied Music at the University of York specialising in Early Music Performance Practice and Stage Direction. Since returning to Northern Ireland in 2015, as a freelancer Caolan has facilitated the work of many arts organisations here including Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble, Sestina Music, and youth music groups in his home county of South Down. Caolan is a versatile singer/director/performer and has performed internationally with The Shamrock Tenors, Schola Cantorum of Oxford, The 24, and is a Lay Clerk at Belfast Cathedral as well as founder member of The Ulster Consort.

Company Administrator

Monica Bannon

Monica studied Music at Belfast Metropolitan College, after which she worked locally as Composer and Sound Designer with Shadowtide Arts. Her experience spans international award-winning short films, well-being audio workshops and Queens Film Theatre ventures. She was responsible for sound design in a mental health project in conjunction with Virtual Reality company Retinize and mental health charity MAM. She also worked with QFT’s Takeover Youth to deliver Film Music workshops to young people. Monica progressed as a Sound Trainee with Screenskills across various high-end TV productions in the UK, including Warner Brothers London. She transferred these skills into then becoming a freelance remote Legal Videographer for Legal Focus Media.  In her spare time, Monica likes to build miniatures, which her two cats (Biscuit and Raisin) like to knock over. 

Our Patron

Sean Rafferty

Sean Rafferty was born in Belfast and brought up in Newcastle, Co. Down. He studied law at Queen’s University. Belfast, and soon after began his career in broadcasting. Sean is a respected arts broadcaster, having presented a variety of radio and television programmes on BBC Radio 3, BBC Northern Ireland and BBC Radio Ulster. Since 1997 Sean has been the regular presenter of In Tune on Radio 3.

The Board

Roy Bailie OBE Chairman

Fionnuala Jay-O’Boyle CBE Vice-Chairman

James Hunt

Ken Lindsay

Stephen Kingon CBE

Professor Dolores O’Reilly

Jane Wells

Richard McBride

Mairéad Regan